portfolio website templates


The Hohenstaufen (/ˈhoʊənʃtaʊfən/ HOH-ən-shtow-fən, US also /ˌhoʊənˈʃtaʊfən, -staʊ-/ -⁠S(H)TOW-fən, German: [ˌhoːənˈʃtaʊfn̩]), also called Staufer, was a noble dynasty of unclear origin that rose to rule the Duchy of Swabia from 1079 and to royal rule in the Holy Roman Empire during the Middle Ages from 1138 until 1254. The most prominent kings Frederick I (1155), Henry VI (1191) and Frederick II (1220) ascended the imperial throne and also ruled Italy and Burgundy. The non-contemporary name is derived from a family castle on the Hohenstaufen mountain at the northern fringes of the Swabian Jura near the town of Göppingen. Under Hohenstaufen reign the Holy Roman Empire reached its greatest territorial extent from 1155 to 1268.

Members of the Hohenstaufen family 

Family tree of the Hohenstaufen emperors including their relation to succeeding dynasties

Seal of Henry II of Swabia (dated 1216) shows him as a mounted knight with a shield and banner displaying three leopards (three lions passant guardant)as the Hohenstaufen coat of arms; the three lions (later shown just passant) would later become known as the Swabian coat of arms.

Holy Roman Emperors and Kings of the Romans

Conrad III, king 1138–1152

Frederick Barbarossa, king 1152–1190, emperor after 1155

Henry VI, king 1190–1197, emperor after 1191

Philip of Swabia, king 1198–1208

Frederick II, king 1208–1250, emperor after 1220

Henry (VII), king 1220–1235 (under his father Emperor Frederick II)

Conrad IV, king 1237–1254 (until 1250 under his father Emperor Frederick II)

The first ruling Hohenstaufen, Conrad III, like the last one, Conrad IV, was never crowned emperor. After a 20-year period (Great interregnum 1254–1273), the first Habsburg was elected king.

Kings of Italy

Note: The following kings are already listed above as German Kings

Conrad III 1128–1135

Frederick I 1154–1190

Henry VI 1191–1197

Kings of Sicily

Note: Some of the following kings are already listed above as German Kings

Henry VI 1194–1197

Frederick 1198–1250

Henry (VII) 1212–1217 (nominal king under his father)

Conrad 1250–1254

Conradin 1254–1258/1268

Manfred 1258–1266

Dukes of Swabia

Note: Some of the following dukes are already listed above as German Kings

Frederick I, Duke of Swabia (Friedrich) (r. 1079–1105)

Frederick II, Duke of Swabia (r. 1105–1147)

Frederick I, Holy Roman Emperor (Frederick III of Swabia)(r. 1147–1152) King in 1152 and Holy Roman Emperor in 1155

Frederick IV, Duke of Swabia (r. 1152–1167)

Frederick V, Duke of Swabia (r. 1167–1170)

Frederick VI, Duke of Swabia (r. 1170–1191)

Conrad II, Duke of Swabia (r. 1191–1196)

Philip of Swabia (r. 1196–1208) King in 1198

Frederick II, Holy Roman Emperor (r. 1212–1216) King in 1212 and Holy Roman Emperor in 1220

Henry (VII) of Germany (r. 1216–1235), King 1220–1235

Conrad IV (r. 1235–1254) King in 1237

Conrad V (Conradin) (r. 1254–1268)

family tree
Families under the command of the Hohenstaufen.

21st Century Monarchs


Dukes of Swabia - Adam von Hohenstaufen of Burgundy

Duchess of Swabia - Evelyn von Hohenstaufen of Savoy

Princess of swabia - Joyce Leia de Leão e Castela e Borgonha D’ Schwaben e Hohenstaufen

Prince of swabia -  Herbert von Hohenstaufen of Waiblingen

Prince of swabia - John Albert Solomon von Hohenstaufen

Historical map of Swabia
Castel del Monte (Italian for "Castle of the Mountain"; Barese: Castìdde du Monte) is a 13th-century citadel and castle situated on a hill in Andria in the Apulia region of southeast Italy. It was built during the 1240s by the Emperor Frederick II, who had inherited the lands from his mother Constance of Sicily.